Invitations on LinkedIn

Last updated: 4 weeks ago

Invitations are how you make connections on LinkedIn. When one LinkedIn member sends an invitation to another person who then accepts the invitation, they become 1st-degree connections. If the person receiving the invitation isn't a LinkedIn member, they'll be prompted to join LinkedIn in order to accept the invitation. Each new connection can increase your access to thousands of professionals in your network.

To view your invitations at any time: 

  1. Go to My Network.

  2. Beside Invitations, select Show all.

  3. On the Manage Invitations page, select:

    • Focused to view invitations from members our systems have higher confidence in.
    • Other to view invitations from members our systems have lower confidence in.
  4. Select an invitation to open the Take care when connecting screen.

    Note: Select View profile to review the member's profile before responding to the invitation.

  5. Choose one of the following actions:

    • Select Accept Invite, to accept the invitation.
    • Select Ignore, you can either ignore the invitation and continue without connecting or choose to delete the invitation.

Important to know

LinkedIn may not send notifications for invitations that appear in the Other view. You can check the Other view from My Network tab by selecting Invitations at any time.

To help keep LinkedIn safe and trusted, invitations are automatically sorted using a combination of signals, including authenticity signals that help reduce spam and unwanted requests.

All invitations remain available to you regardless of which view they appear in. Invitations placed in Other can still be accepted, ignored, or responded to just like invitations in Focused.

Notes:
  • To ensure an optimal site experience, LinkedIn members can have a maximum of 30,000 1st-degree connections. Learn more about LinkedIn’s network size limit.
  • A primary email address is mandatory to send invitations.

Learn more